The Best Festive Red Lipsticks | Blogmas Day 16

For me, Christmas isn’t Christmas without a festive red lip. Whether it’s to brighten up a casual jeans and bobble hat combo, or to add a fancy touch to a Christmas party outfit, a red lip screams ‘it’s Christmaaaas’ à la Merry Xmas Everybody by Slade (niche reference perhaps…?).

When I was a teenager, I had quite the collection of red lipsticks. I’m talking matte, satin, gloss. Orange-reds, brick reds, deep reds, berry reds. I had loads, and I very rarely used them all. Now, I’ve whittled them down and I have my staple four products that I always go to. Each one is a different shade of red and a slightly different finish so I tend to choose which one to wear depending on how I’m feeling that day. Sometimes a satin finish deep red, sometimes a matte finish, vibrant, blue undertone red. Today, I thought I’d share these four products with you in case you’re looking for the perfect red lip for the Christmas season! Plus, I still haven’t decided which red to go for on Christmas day, so maybe this will help me decide!

MAC Retro Matte in Ruby Woo

This is one of the most popular red lipsticks for a reason! The classic, vibrant red shade is perfect for Christmas as it really pops! Plus the staying power is incredible – it’s my go to red for a night out so I reckon it would fend pretty well during Christmas dinner too!

MAC Matte in Russian Red

A bit deeper than Ruby Woo but another cult favourite! When I was deciding which reds to keep, I knew Russian Red had to be in there. It’s a dark red with bluer undertones than the classic MAC Lady Danger and although it’s still a matte, I feel like it’s less matte. I find that this one really compliments darker hair.

L’Oreal Colour Riche Matte in Brick Vintage 348

This is a newer addition to my collection! It’s name is very apt as it’s definitely a brick red. It has more orange undertones and is better for more of a classy, understated look. I think this is a strong contender for my Christmas Day lipstick. This is one is definitely more affordable than the others in my collection and one of the best drugstore red lipsticks I’ve tried.

Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet in Nightfall 63

I wear this one the least, quite honestly because I feel like it’s a ‘special’ one and I don’t want to use it up! Again, it’s a deep red, but very rich. It also feels luxurious, and it’s the only non-matte in my collection. Another contender for Christmas day… If you’re going to use a Chanel lipstick, surely Christmas is the time to do it!?

Are you a red lipstick for Christmas kind of person? What’s your favourite red lipstick?

16 thoughts on “The Best Festive Red Lipsticks | Blogmas Day 16

  1. Chloe Chats says:

    I want to be more of a lipstick person, I started to wear lipstick a lot last year but this year I haven’t as much! Although saying that I haven’t worn much make up this year due to not going out much! This post has inspired me to put on some red lippy for Christmas day though, think I’m going to try and be a bit more dressy up this year! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie says:

    I love this list! It’s rare I wear makeup anymore, but I still love the products. I’m always on the lookout for lipsticks like these for my sister! Thanks for this list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment